World Naval Ships Forums  
VIEW ALL OF OUR CURRENT SPECIAL OFFERS HERE!

Go Back   World Naval Ships Forums > Naval History > Royal Navy Ships and Crews
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Royal Navy Ships and Crews Topics relating to a specific Royal Navy ship or ships

Old 26-10-2007, 10:21
Recruit

Default HM Yacht Rhiannon

Does anyone have any information about this vessel or its service? I am a journalist and while researching an article partly about Harwich and the Royal Navy I was intrigued to find the following burial at St Mary's RN cemetery near Shotley:

Name: Harvey, R.
Nationality: UK
Service: RN Reserve
Unit: HM Yacht Rhiannon
Date of death: 20/7/1915
Service No: 2711 B
Additional information: Son of Andrew and Catherine Harvey; husband of Elizabeth Ellen Harvey, of 2607, Algonquin Avenue, Detroit, Michigan, U.S.A.

I can find no other reference to Harvey or Rhiannon, nor explanation for his wife's intriguing US address. Can anyone shed any light?
Old 26-10-2007, 12:29
Rum Bosun

Default Re: HM Yacht Rhiannon

Hi Johnathan,
According to the Portsmouth War Memorial HMS RHIANNON was an Armed Yacht and was Mined and sank off Longsand 20 July 1915
Hope this helps
Regards
Dave
Old 26-10-2007, 12:33
Rum Bosun

Hi Johnathan,
According to the Portsmouth War Memorial HMS RHIANNON was an Armed yacht of 138tns ,She was mined and sank off Longsand 20 July 1915.Hope this is of some use
Regards
Dave

Last edited by rumrat : 26-10-2007 at 12:51.
Old 26-10-2007, 13:47
Commander

Hi Jonathan - further to Dave's reply, HMY RHIANNON was a yacht of 126 tons gross, built in 1914 and hired as an Auxiliary Patrol Yacht on 15 September 1914 and armed with two 3 pounders

Leading Seaman Havey was a member of the Royal Naval Reserve and as such he was a professional seaman in service in the mercantile marine in peacetime. On declaration of war in August 1914 he would have been called up for naval service with other reservists.