PDA

View Full Version : RN Shore Training Establishment: HMS St George

NSR
26-06-2008, 15:49
Found this in the ditty box. It is my class at the passing out parade performing guard duties. Me and Wiggy are at the back and have our rifles at slightly the wrong angle. Luckily the Class PO had his back to us and didn't see it so we wern't given a rollocking. That was the last time I had to wave a rifle about for several years.

Ken

Joseph
26-06-2008, 17:01
Fine photo Ken, them bayonets look dangerous.

Regards Charles

Batstiger
26-06-2008, 19:47
The old SMLE's and 18" bayonets, takes me back to my sea cadet days in 1951!

Bob.

Donkey
28-10-2010, 12:33
St George (Gosport) May1947

Doc
28-10-2010, 13:36
Well, I'm blowed! I don't think I've ever seen an image of matelots at St George's Barracks. I have only ever heard of it as a Pongo (Army) base. You learn something new every day.

What date is this from, Donkey?

Doc

Donkey
28-10-2010, 14:45
Sorry Doc I am a little new to this I have edited it now the date was May 47 after a freezing cold February did Rifle drill in gloves, not touched one since or worn Boots.

Polycell
28-10-2010, 16:31
Well, I'm blowed! I don't think I've ever seen an image of matelots at St George's Barracks. I have only ever heard of it as a Pongo (Army) base. You learn something new every day.

What date is this from, Donkey?

DocThat makes two of us. I always thought it was a Pongo camp. So come on Donkey what was it a training camp for? New Entries? I see a stokers badge on one of the guys.

alanbenn
28-10-2010, 20:09
During the period 1940 to 1945 Hms Ganges was closed to boy entrants and used for Hostility Only trainees.

The boys who joined between this period did their training at Hms St George, I think some lads from Raleigh and St Vincent were also moved to Hms St George, perhaps other members could explain more, bit before my time.

Regards
Alan

Polycell
29-10-2010, 08:26