PDA

View Full Version : Commodore.


Kevin123
17-07-2009, 00:26
I was with the MOD for 22 years, and the only naval rank I couldn't understand was commodore. Could a commander be promoted to commodore before he became a captain, and is it true that a captain can outrank a commodore. Kevin.

qprdave
17-07-2009, 00:37
Have a look at this Kev

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Commodore_(Royal_Navy)

mik43
17-07-2009, 16:47
Understood a 'Commodore' was a failed 'Admiral' in the making...!!

Mik

qprdave
17-07-2009, 16:55
I suppose you could say that. Although they felt that it was right to put a Commodore in place where they felt that an Admiral wasn't needed. With the amount of Admirals swanning around the Admiralty, It surprises me that there isn't one that wouldn't mind going to sea (Unless Mrs. Admiral has said that she has had enough of him galavanting around the world unsupervised!!!!!)

Still, I bet a Commodore's Pension is a lot better than mine!!!!!!!

Kevin123
17-07-2009, 20:25
I read somewhere that we had almost had as many admirals as we had ships. Does anyone know what they actually do all day ! Kevin.