PDA

View Full Version : RN Shore Training Establishment: HMS Victory

wilma
05-08-2007, 18:23
I am new to this and I am wondering if I can find a crew list for this ship during the second world war as I know my grandfather serve on this ship.
thanks Linda

steve@sussexsafety.co.uk
17-08-2007, 21:39
My father was on HMS Victory during WW2 at various times - I have the impression that it was a training establishment at Portsmouth, presumably based around the famous HMS Victory. My father did his basic training there in 1933 and again in 1939 and also in 1943

Melv.
18-08-2007, 12:34
Many RN sailors were posted to HMS Victory during WW2 as a holding shore based establishment whilst waiting for assignment to another ship.
My Father was posted to Victory when the Ark Royal was sunk and eventually, after a couple of months, he was posted to another ship.
Although HMS Victory is on the Royal Navy list as active (and still is) it is more of a symbolic gesture to Nelson's Navy than anything else although it must be said it does have a serving RN Captain and a small maintenance crew of RN sailors.

jpotter61
06-11-2007, 18:14
My Father in Law, James Harry Potter served on the HMS Victory 1918/1919 and then was discharged as he was underage. I cannot find anything about this ship as all I get is the famous Victory. Can anyone help me please

tonclass
06-11-2007, 18:37
VICTORY (Barracks) was the former name for HMS NELSON, a shorebase in Portsmouth. Perhaps this is where he served.

Topcat
08-05-2008, 19:55
I notice on my great-uncles naval service record that he was posted 4 times to HMS Victory on different occasions from 1911-1918, was HMS Victory a training base during this time? would apprecaite any information

Topcat

historydavid
08-05-2008, 22:03
HMS VICTORY, Nelson's old flagship, was a holding name for men who were posted into the Portsmouth area. Every man in the RN had to be assigned to a vessel because of the naval discipine regulations.